Archive for March 17, 2014

            Wow…, I thought this assignment was going to be a piece of cake. It wound up being a weeklong process to track down books and other sources on the internet so that I could get a chance to really read them. Let’s start with step one, which was choosing the scholarly article. I chose to read Managing the Stigma of Outlaw Breeds: A Case Study of Pit Bull Owners, from the journal of Society and Animals, March 2000 by Twining, Arluke, and Patronek. This article seemed the most appealing to me because of the fact that I am a pit bull owner (and wanted to see if any of the article applied to me), and wanted to see what others had experienced with their dogs in other parts of the country. This also coincided with some of the questions I had been asking so far in my online interviews.

(more…)